Potato Latkes

After making the breakfast bread, I had a bunch of applesauce left over. I also had a few potatoes I needed to get rid of, and after visiting the Russ and Daughters Cafe* a few weeks ago, I thought, why not latkes?

Potato Latkes:

Prep: 15 mins, Cook: 10 mins; Yield: 12 latkes

You’ll need:

  • 2 pounds potatoes
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup shallot
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • vegetable oil for frying

ingredients

 

1. Grate potatoes.

 

2. Rinse shredded potatoes. Allow to rest for a three minutes under water line. Remove potatoes from water, squeeze water out, and let dry on paper towel.

 

3. Pour water from potato bowl, leaving potato starch.

 

4. Add chopped shallots, dry potatoes, eggs, flour, and salt to potato starch bowl. Mix well.

 

5. Fry spoonful of potato mixture in skillet over medium heat (each side about three minutes).

 

Enjoy! Serve with applesauce and/or sour cream as a dipping sauce.

 

Soooooo delicious!

(*The cafe was sooooo goooood. The type of place to take someone you love. I take all my out of town visitors there now.)

Leave a comment