Marche@

Back in September, I went on one of WOOF Korea’s day trips and met a Korean woman who told me about an organic farmer’s market in Seoul called “Marche@.” She said that Marche@ pitched tent every 2nd Sunday of the month in the plaza outside Hyewha Station’s exit 2. Since it’s no secret that I love food, the market piqued my interest, and I made an attempt to visit that fall but failed. This May, I just so happened to be walking to a tech rehearsal in Hyewha when I stumbled upon Marche@ in full swing.  A pleasant surprise indeed. I had a few minutes to spare, so I got to check it out for a bit.

There were vendors selling artisan crafts like soaps and fabric bags, and lots of farmers selling fruit, herbs, eggs and other food products. I copped a bag of basil, naturally.

On the other side of the plaza, there were a lot of stalls cheffing up tasty organic fare: southern barbecue, tarts, desserts… I went to the tent with the shortest line (Cafe EAT) and ordered a bowl of some sort of savory rice cake with vegetables. It was lovely. While waiting for the rice cakes to cook, I saw them also making sandwiches, so I ordered one of those too. I’m not sure what it was other than delicious. Potato and egg curry on brioche maybe? Don’t care. It was amazing. The next tent over was serving burgers and had a mad long line. I’m sure they were good, but I feel like some of that line should have been eating what I had. Needless to say, I’m going to try and stop by Cafe EAT’s  storefront in the future.

I was really thankful to have been able to check out Marche@ after hearing so many good things about it. I’d definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a good-tasting, good-for-you-and-the-environment lunch in Seoul.

Leave a Reply

